Issue

No. 0010

But How?

Chris, how’d you do it?

How did you transform Vi-Mac into one of the largest fuel haulers in the southeast?

The answer is simple: it was never about the business. It was about the people.

By 2015, I essentially owned three separate businesses that operated as one called entity called “Metro Petro.” The business was composed of three sectors:

Fuel hauling. Real estate.
Fuel contracting.

The offer was generous. As many of you know, my “rags to riches” story has not been an easy one. I was overwhelmed by the position that I had found myself in.

Money is portrayed as the biggest motivator in the life. When you’re face to face with it, you find yourself in an extremely overwhelming position.

In the midst of this decision, I came to a realization. If not for this realization, I would not be where I am today.

How could I abandon the men that built this company? Would it be right for me to simply “cash out” and live a luxurious life while these men were subjugated to whatever leadership comes in to replace me?

Furthermore, these men were the real reason that my company flourished. If not for them, I do not know where my path would have led.

What did I do?

In 2016, I decided to sell the fuel contracting portion of my business and maintained ownership of the fuel hauling portion. By doing this, I enabled myself to reap the fruits of my labor while maintaining my leadership position.

In doing so, I was able to serve the men who had served me.

How does this apply to you?

Ask yourself.

Ask yourself the tough question: am I prioritizing myself over my team? If your answer to this question is yes, then you’ve a lost a potentially crucial competitive advantage in your industry.

By flipping this question, I have gained an edge on my competitors. My commitment to my team has transcended my business to heights that would not have been possible otherwise.

By going all in on my team, I was able to go all in when the business world collapsed during the COVID-19 pandemic.By going all in on my team, I have found myself in a position where I am compelled to encourage you to do the same.

I need you to respond to this email with your comments or content on what you would like to see.

Let’s work people

GBG